Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 28th December 2011, 11:02 PM   #1
lrb1200

Default Moro Kris?

Thank you in advance for your time,

I am new to this discipline of study, my endeavors around edged weapons has been primarily focused to nihonto. I was steered to this web site by an individual who sang the praises of knowledge concerning these treasures of history.
In my possession is what appears to me to be a Moro Kris ( simply a guess) that my father who served in the pacific until the end of WWII brought back with other artifacts.
I perceive this blade is filled with innuendos to be appreciated that I have no cognizance of, and I am looking for understanding, I also realize this is no small request of knowledge, given my level of devotion to the study.
The innuendos associated with the appreciation of this type of blade elude me, and again I humbly submit it for your knowledge.
The blade itself is 23 in., the engravings on it are a mystery as is the the manor of which the handle is mounted to the blade,and the waves close to the hilt. These questions and the age and origin are what I seek as a platform to understand what this blade is.

Respectfully
Leonard
Attached Images

lrb1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2011, 03:47 AM   #2
Battara
EAAF Staff

Welcome to our little forum! Well for starters it seems to be a 1940s kris with aluminum bands on the hilt. The piece also seems to be from the Maranao tribe (on Mindanao Island) with a Tausug (Sulu archepalego) blade. The designs on the blade are called ukkil in Sulu and some say that they are decorative while others say talismanic. I lean more toward the decorative at this point. Of the three types of blade, wavy, straight, and half wavy half straight, it is obviously the latter.
Battara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2011, 12:54 PM   #3
Dom

Quote: