Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 30th December 2007, 08:15 PM   #1
ALEX

Default AssadUllah Cartouche/Stamp

Recently I came across saif with depicted below stamp. There is magnitude of AssadUllah stamps, and most of old/original ones are carved, chiselled or coftgaried. This one is done in a different manner, which I have not seen before, it is "inscribed" on the steel, i.e. without deep relief. I think the stamp is not newly made, and would appreciate any comments/references, etc.
Attached Images

ALEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2007, 09:11 PM   #2
ward

Alex show the whole blade easier to date that way. I asked a friend who knows these he says it reads Assad ullah isfahani thats the city where he worked

ward
ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2007, 10:00 PM   #3
ALEX

I appreciate and value your comments Ward. Thank You!
I studied this shamshir for a short while, and it puzzles me. I knew the stamp reads "AA Isfahani", but I'd love to reach an intelligent conclusion as of this stamp's authenticity (not easy, I know) Most AA stamps I've seen are either obvious fakes, or at least old and made in certain fashion. This one is old, I think, but made in an unusual fashion. The blade is wootz with prolongated wavy pattern. The sword's shape suggests 19 Cent Arabian saif, IMHO. My current take is: "If AA insignia played such an important role of quality and prestige, the AA stamp should represent the same". Perhaps I am being too judgmental, but the lion looks particularly unusual to me.
Attached Images

Last edited by ALEX; 30th December 2007 at 10:52 PM.
Old 30th December 2007, 10:28 PM   #4
ward

Nice sword Alex hilt looks Indian to me
article on shamshirs Oliver Pinchot wrote is probably
best way to answer your questions he went into all that

ward
Old 30th December 2007, 10:48 PM   #5
Rick
Vikingsword Staff