Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12th December 2008, 04:27 AM   #1
bigyankee

Default New Here.

I'm very new to collecting antique edged weapons. As a matter of fact I got my first one today. It's a kris I believe. I've been collecting militaria for a while and finally something new(to me). So can anyone tell me about kris knives, I believe that's how it's spelled.

(Sorry if this is in the wrong place, forgive me for I am new)
bigyankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2008, 05:09 AM   #2
Robert
EAAF Staff

Hello Bigyankee,
Welcome to the forum. If you would, please post a few pictures of your new addition and a few measurements like total length, blade length, thickness and width. If you use the search button at the top of the page and type in kris and you will find all sorts of info and pictures. If you haven't done it yet I would suggest that you start your forum experience by viewing this. http://www.vikingsword.com/vb/showthread.php?t=4

Robert
Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2008, 05:20 PM   #3
Henk

Bigyankee,

Welcome to the forum.
As Robert suggested better place some pictures of the item. Then we can comment. If your new addition is a keris the thread better should be removed to the keris warung kopy part of this forum. Don't worry, the moderators will take care for that.
Henk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 11:08 PM   #4
migueldiaz

Hi Bigyankee,

Am new here myself. If you'd first like to have an overview of ethnic Philippine weapons, then please see Krieger's Weapons of the Philippine Islands.

If you want to zoom in right away on krises, this old thread is very helpful to say the least, and I'd say is a must-see: Kris sword variations.

Welcome

PS - Vandoo, the richness of your collection continues to boggle my imagination!
migueldiaz is offline   Reply With Quote