Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 14th December 2005, 08:48 PM   #1
Valjhun

Default albanian jambiya

Hi to everyone!

I'm a new member and that is my first post here. I'm from Zagreb, Croatia. I've found that forum recently and look what a great community! Compliments! I'm also a novice collector.

I was bidding on that the previous day on ebay. Item number 6586228816 . I think that it is an albanian jambiya... Is that true?

Valjhun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 09:08 PM   #2
Lew
(deceased)

Hi Valjhun

Welcome to the forum!

Were you the one who won the auction on this dagger? I had put in a few bids on it but for some reason the hilt didn't look that old? The blade is wootz but I think the hilt was replaced more recently it just does not have the right patina on it. Still it is a nice piece with a wonderful blade.

Lew
Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 10:06 PM   #3
ariel

I do not think it is Wootz (crystalline damascus); it is mechanical damascus and, I think, of Shams variety.
The finial looks Ottoman, and the use of niello points more towards Asia Minor proper rather than the Balkans. I just got Yu. Miller's book on Caucasian Arms in the Hermitage collection; it has an example of a dagger with a handle traditionally attributed to Albania (deep diagonal cuts on the handle) but in fact of Georgian origin. This one is not Caucasian at all: wire-stitched scabbard, different niello ornaments, different location of hanging rings (look almost Syrian or Moroccan to me!) , wrong finial.
I vote for the Levant origin (Turkey, Western Middle East).
ariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2005, 11:41 PM   #4
TVV

Question