Ethnographic Arms & Armour

Go Back   Ethnographic Arms & Armour > Discussion Forums > Ethnographic Weapons
FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 27th January 2005, 06:31 PM   #1
Boswego

Default Can Anyone Help ID this Keris ?

As a complete novice in the field of swords-I wondered if anyone might have an idea as to where this Keris is from and what it was used for.Thanks Very Much-Boswego[Keris1.jpg][Keris2.jpg][Keris3.jpg][Keris4.jpg]

P.S.-I'm having problems w/ my antiquated windows98 and javascript re attachments-i hope the pics shop up.
Boswego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2005, 06:38 PM   #2
Boswego

Default Sorry (no pics) re Keris

Sorry,dont seem to be able to attach the Keris pics-when i hit the 'manage attachments' bar i get the old 'the page cannot be displayed' message ('detect network settings' prompt doesnt work either).
Boswego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2005, 11:45 PM   #3
Andrew

Boswego, try hosting them on www.photobucket.com or you can email them to me at awinston@aol.com and I'll post them.
Andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2005, 02:35 PM   #4
Sang Keris

.. i'm courious...
Sang Keris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2005, 09:38 PM   #5
Andrew

Cool

Here you go, Boswego. This is a Moro Kris from the Phillipines. I know very, very little about these, but others here should be able to help you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boswego
Here's all I can say about this piece- 25" total length,20 1/2" blade length,5 1/4" hilt-handle length.The blade does'nt appear to be damascened,or so heavily polished all striations were obliterated...

I also wanted to know if someone out there might have a suitable scabbard for the Keris.
Attached Images

Andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2005, 10:00 PM   #6
Federico